Introducing…My Doodlebug

Five years ago, I became an Aunt.  Depending on where you are in the world, you may pronounce it “Ant” or if you’re really fancy pronounced “Awnt”.  I prefer the fancy version as I’m one to always break out in an English accent at any random moment of the day.  But back to the theme of this blog.  I became an Aunt when my little bundle of joy was born.  I’ve decided to call her by her nickname here for privacy reasons.  Although, if you know her, you know her name.

So, if she was born five years ago, why start a blog now?  Well, I always think better late than never.  She’s grown so much over the past two and a half years that I have spent with her.  Sadly, I missed the first couple years of her life due to the fact that I was living out of state.  I’m grateful that I came into her life at the age where she was really starting to speak and grow into her real personality.

Upon my return, I spent several days a week with my niece.  It took a while, but I soon began calling her “Doodlebug(DB)”.  At first, she gave me this look like, “who?” That’s not my name Aunt Sawa.  At her young age, she had difficulty with her “r’s” and “w’s”.  In the beginning, I would correct her.  Now I miss her saying it with the “w’s”.  Now, I’m just Saaarrra, which goes along with the classic “family” look.  Yeah, she has the “look”.  The rolling of the head and the eyes that say, “Really?”

I’ve loved spending the past several years watching her grow into a smart little girl.  She’s five going on twenty-five and she has a memory of an elephant.  I don’t mean she remembers what she did yesterday.  She remembers places, conversations and people from six months to over a year ago.  Heck, I don’t remember what I had for breakfast, let alone a year ago!  I can definitely say she keeps all of us in tears of laughter.  And could definitely star in the kids tv show, “Kids Say the Darndest things.”  When she talks, you wonder what is going on in that brain of hers to articulate what just came out of her mouth.

That is why I’ve decided to start this.  I’ve got to keep a record of what she says and does when she comes for her bi-weekly visits.  They are things that you can’t make up.  No Hollywood writer, unless they had kids,  could come up with the things that she says and does. 

Yesterday, was one of those days.  Typically, DB comes to the house twice a week.  Next year, she starts Kindergarten so I won’t get to have these precious moments.  It makes me cherish everyday.  Anyway, back to yesterday.  After breakfast and somewhere in between getting ready for soccer day, we start coloring.  Her Ama(i.e. paternal grandmother) asked her to make a birthday card for a friend. 

You’d think that would be a simple, uncomplicated task.  However, those two words are not in her vocabulary.  Period. It’s not just a simple birthday card.  No. This card tells a story.  With every line, with every angle and every dot there is a story.  Of course, adding the occasional heart sticker makes it even more special.

As she is constructing this card, I ask her about what she is thinking about when she is constructing her masterpiece.

“This is Triangle Power, and this is Square Power.  Over here is Sun Power with Circle Power.”, she says.  Yeah, right. Of course.  You know, “The Powers.”  Yeah, I had no idea what she was talking about.  So, I asked her what each of the “Powers” were.  Here are her definitions:

Triangle Power – makes you strong.

Square Power – makes you run so fast.

Sun Power – makes you so warm.

Circle Power – makes you go into water everyday.

And there you have it.  The Power definitions.  From the mind of a five-year-old.  It was quite an extensive picture complete with definitions.  The birthday girl isn’t going to know what hit her.  HA!

From her “Power” definitions to her Elephant memory, my little DB is definitely a keeper.

Leave a Reply

